FurRag forums
June 29, 2017, 02:05:06 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Does this seem too un-flowy to you?  (Read 3692 times)
inocain

View Profile
« on: June 13, 2011, 11:56:24 PM »

I'm working on finishing part 1 of a potentially extremely long story in preparation for a possible run with part 2 for NaNoWriMo. Each part would be the equivalent of a book. In chapter 1-5, (I haven't been the most dedicated, and need to find better times to write than just before going to bed. I've been writing this for about 2 months now. Embarrassed) I am writing in that MC1 is discussing the failures of a mission and how they went wrong with SC1. I have it written in the form

Dialogue (3 lines)
First Problem (1-2 sentences)
Dialogue (1 line)
Second Problem (1-2 Sentences)
Dialogue (still ongoing)

Is this a problem? Should I expand this opening? As I do get into the chapter, the "flashbacks" of the mission will grow longer, as the action gets more intense. Any issues that arise will be flashed out accordingly, and noted by the characters. Should I write the mission part first, then the followup in the next part? Or is this a good format? I intend to have one character (MC1) speaking through most of this chapter, as he is the student.

I will post the actual part here when I have the time.
k9k

Dog, man's best friend....with benefits!

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2011, 01:38:21 AM »

Please post the actual parts, the thing with dialogue, like people, brevity can suffice or a blowhard adds character.

"It is inaccurate to say that I hate everything. I am strongly in favor of common sense, common honesty, and common decency. This makes me forever ineligible for public office."
H. L. Mencken
zeekgenateer

Normality is abnormal. Abnormality is the norm.

View Profile WWW